Posted by: newhavenrow | October 7, 2010

A Mars a skiff…

A bit of energy sanding prior to painting

We heard about the Mars Refuel fund quite recently and offcourse immediately put in an grant application to help us with our skiff rowing and community involvement plans. On browsing the site I noticed a free competition and duly entered. Never having won the lottery and knowing millions would be applying I never expected to win.

How wrong I was! and to great jealously from other skiffies I showed off my throphies at last Monday’s skiff painting evening. Refuel certainly works, we painted the skiff in record time with energy left over after a long evening. First paint of primer (diluted to 5%) has gone ontop of the coat of Woodseal. 2 primer coats to go and then several coats of Multicoat. (We will keep you in suspense on the final colour)

First coat of paint on skiff

Thank to Mars for the goodies, you made my evening. We now intend to strap the pedometer to an oar to see how far we can row.

PS If you bring a crate of Refuel on launch day we will give you a go on the oars.

Categories